110 documentary films will compete at the International Festival of Sustainable Development Films Ekotopfilm – Envirofilm. 4 non-compettive titles will join. Have a look at the film catalogue for more information. A little taste of films can be viewed in the section Trailers. 

Bruce Bucklin Credit: Ekotopfilm

As usual, the Chairman of the International jury Bruce Bucklin will be in charge. Bruce is with us since 2001, a real fixed star.

International jury 2015 Credit: Kathryn Pasternak

The International jury combined of artistic and scientific professionals will decide on the winners.

Sandy Cannon-Brown credit: Sandy Cannon-Brown

This year, US filmmaker Sandy Cannon-Brown will reinforce the International jury as a guest juror. Sandy Cannon-Brown celebrates her 69th birthday on the opening night of Ekotopfilm – Envirofilm 2016. Her award-winning work as a filmmaker has taken her around the world, but she now concentrates on her own backyard, the Chesapeake Bay, the largest estuary in the United States. Her latest film, Beautiful Swimmers Revisited, about the Bay’s iconic blue crab premiered at the Environmental Film Festival in the Nation’s Capital in March. Sandy is founder (1985) and remains president of VideoTakes, Inc. She also is an associate director of the Center for Environmental Filmmaking at American University, where she taught visual media for 10 years and earned her BA and MA degrees. She was named AU’s Outstanding Adjunct Professor in 2011. Sandy is a former president of Women in Film & Video DC for 2011-2012 and a recipient of WIFV’s prestigious Woman of Vision award.

The Awards ceremony takes place on Friday, May 20, 2016 at the Primate’s palace. Invitations only.